Thoughts on Leadership

Every time I run across an article or post I want to incorporate into my blog I save it in a folder.  Today I looked at the hodgepodge of items in that folder and found three related to leaders and leadership, so I am throwing them all together in today’s post.

 

  • How to Seize Your Greatest Opportunities on Leadership Freak discusses how obstacles are opportunities:  “Great leaders face great challenges and solve great problems. . .  Leaders without obstacles are ships without wind.”  This is an “aha” statement for me.  Instead of turning away from obstacles, I’m going to try to see them as opportunities.
  • 10 Ways To Ensure Your Business Success As A Leader from Ed Robinson’s blog is a no-nonsense look at how to be a leader:  “I often tell my clients that business is simple but people complicate it.  There are a few basic things every leader can do which will increase his/her effectiveness right away.”  I am glad to see some of my old friends here (mission statement, strategic planning, careful hiring practices) but there are other things in his list of 10 I don’t always think of.
  • 4 Steps to Becoming a Transformational Leader from The Fast Track describes transformational leadership as “a process in which leaders and followers help each other to advance to a higher level of morale and motivation.”  This seems to be taking leadership skills to a higher level, and I find the topic and the post intriguing.

 

And there you are—three posts today that I hope will enhance your skills as a leader.  Please share other ideas with me!

 

Star pencil

Star pencil (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

 

This entry was posted in Leadership and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion!

