Simply Stated

I am not really a writer.  It is not my best skill.  Most of what I post in this blog is “borrowed” from others.  They have great thoughts and ideas, and usually, they are great writers.

A large book laying open

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One of my faults is wordiness.  I write long emails, and often long Facebook posts.  Twitter doesn’t always work well for me–I am often counting my characters and trying to figure out what I can abbreviate or reduce to internet shorthand (C U L8r, OMG, etc.)

So I am in awe of those who can say what they need to say in a few words.  (To be clear, I can use a just a few words, but then I am usually leaving out something important.)  Imagine my surprise and awe when reading A Tweet, a Blog Post, and a Profound Teaching.  The author, Jesse Lyn Stoner, explores boiling her blog posts down to their short, central messages.  Invariably, these are the length of tweets.

Can you do it?

This entry was posted in Blogging, Communication and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simply Stated

  1. I think you ate a fine writer, and I love what you “borrow” and choose to pass along. It’s always useful.

    Like

Join the discussion!

