Did You Enjoy Black Friday?

English: DC USA, Best Buy, Black Friday

Black Friday (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I know I’m getting old(ish)—so you don’t have to tell me.  I do remember a time when there was no such thing as Black Friday.  Well, I guess the stores were open, but they didn’t open at midnight on Thursday, and they didn’t call it Black Friday.  Anyway, some people are violently opposed to this Black Friday thing, and I can understand it.  Especially the crazy crowds of humanity making the mad dash to cash in on special prices.  I think people have actually gotten hurt.

On the other hand, I do like to shop, and I do like good deals, so if I were lonely, I might well want to do a little shopping on Friday (but not at midnight on Thursday! and not at 4 or 6 a.m. on Friday either!) if it weren’t for the crazy crowds.

So I won’t weigh in one way or the other on the practice.  But, I have wondered, what does it mean for public libraries?  How can we “compete?”  Or, should we even try?  Whatever you think about Black Friday, and public libraries getting involved, here are some stories about libraries that did just that:

If you have thoughts about Black Friday library promotions, or if you know of a library that does this, or if YOUR library does or you’re thinking about it, let me know in the comments.

 

 

This entry was posted in Library in Community, Library Programs, Library Services, Promotion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Join the discussion!

