Snow and Libraries

Much of the country had snowy and blizzard conditions recently.  Lots of libraries closed.  So begins the ever popular debate, whether to close or stay open.  Personally, I think it is a hard call.  I don’t think libraries should necessarily close because the schools do.  But I do think maybe you should if they are advising no travel.  On the other hand, I am also a firm believer in “libraries as an essential service,” which may mean serving as a shelter for folks in a snow emergency.

A library in Connecticut regrets their “essential service” status, in the light of the recent blizzard.  What do you think?

This entry was posted in Library in Community, Public Libraries and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snow and Libraries

  1. Suzann says:

    When it comes to closing if travel is not advised, I wind up looking at the staff scheduled. If everyone lives in town, I’m much more likely to stay open. With staff members coming from out of town, I also have to consider the probable conditions at the end of their shift. It’s always a tough call. I’m willing to bet we’ve all experienced making the wrong call — I know I have!

    Like

  2. I believe you have the right idea with the no travel days. Just in my personal,humble opinion

    Like

Join the discussion!

