Sisterhood is Powerful

https://butismileanyway.files.wordpress.com/2015/06/img_1196.png?w=640

As a feminist, I do feel strongly that sisterhood is powerful, and that women have an obligation to do our part to make the world better, and to be there for our sisters around the world. So I am honored to have been nominated for the Sisterhood of the World Award. Thank you, Ritu!

There are four rules for accepting the award:

1) Say “Thank You” to the person who nominated you & link their blog to your post.
Done. See above.

2) Answer the 10 questions given to you.

3) Pass the award on to other bloggers and let them know they have been nominated.

4) Include the Award Badge in your post.  Done. See above.


 

Here are Ritu’s questions for me, and my answers:

1. What do you like best about blogging? Gosh, this one is hard. I guess I like being able to reach folks interested in some of the same things I’m interested in. More recently, I enjoy getting to “know” bloggers and followers from all over the world.

2. If you could visit any place in the world, where would that place be and why? 4315987006Madagascar. I had a college friend from Madagascar, and I loved her stories and descriptions about the place.  College was a LONG time ago, but I haven’t forgotten.

3. If you could change one thing about your life, what would it be? I wish I possessed more self-esteem.

4. List 3 things that you are proud of doing / having done.

  • Exercising regularly. This is something I have always hated. But since retiring a few years ago, I now make myself do it 3-4 times per week. (Still hate it.)
  • Moving to Wisconsin many years ago to go to grad school. I didn’t know a soul and was scared to death. But I did it, and made it work! (And never left Wisconsin!)
  • Blogging.

5. What was your favourite subject at school, and why did it appeal so much?
English. I think because I was sort of good at it. But also because the literature part of it “took” me to other places.

6. Is there any particular environmental issue that causes you concern? Yes, more than one. But global warming probably the most.

7. What is your favourite childhood memory? It’s not one particular memory, but I’m going to say that my memories of spending time, and staying overnight, at my aunt and uncle’s farm are among my favorites. Even though I was young, and sat around and didn’t contribute much (if at all!) to the work of the farm, I fancied myself a “farm girl” and a cowgirl.

8. Who is your favourite character in a novel or film and why do you like them so much? Laura Ingalls. Loved those books. Loved her descriptions of life on the prairie, and other places they lived, and the family relationships. I think it also resonated with me that sometimes she (and others) got into trouble and/or made mistakes, but it was always alright in the end. And that the love and support of family was what mattered.

9. What is your greatest ambition in life? To be well thought of by others. To be kind.

10. What is the biggest compliment you have ever had? That I am a good teacher.


Whew! That was HARD!! Now, here are the blogs I am nominating for the award:

A Woman’s Woman
Debbie’s Deliberations
Teach Her to Fly


And here are their ten questions:

  1. Why do you blog?
  2.  What is your birth order? Oldest, youngest, middle, other?
  3. Where have you lived? (City, state/province, country)
  4. Describe your perfect day.
  5. Ever have an imaginary friend? Describe them.
  6. What do you think are your best qualities?
  7. Worst qualities?
  8.  What’s your favorite color?
  9.  What’s your favorite thing(s) to wear? By that I mean, if you could, what would you wear all day every day?
  10.  Who/what do you want to be “when you grow up”?

THAT was HARD, too! It’s not quite happy hour, but I’m going to go make myself a drink anyway. To Sisterhood!!

This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sisterhood is Powerful

  1. Michelle says:

    Nice one! and lovely choices to pass it on to 🙂 Go the Sisterhood!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations, 🙂

    Like

Join the discussion!

