I Wonder

writing

I admit, I am so intrigued by How Fiction Writing Can Improve Your Productivity and Well-Being.

A long, long (long!) time ago I did write some short stories and poems. They weren’t very good. I used to say, sometime I would get a job, get married, have kids, and then stay at home with my kids and write “my novel.” (What novel? That was always unclear.) Some of those things never happened—I never had children, and I never wrote a novel. And somewhere along the line I stopped writing stories and poems. But perhaps this was a mistake.

Is it possible that writing can have the same effect on others that it does on the author?

It’s what happens afterwards that’s interesting: If the writing goes well, and I hit my self-imposed word target, then I’m almost guaranteed to have a good day. But if the writing goes badly, I could have the easiest afternoon in the world and still end the day feeling like death.

Maybe one of these days I’ll give it a try again. How about you? Do you write fiction?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Wonder

  1. I think you should give it another go, especially if it is something you enjoyed doing. I am no good at writing fiction at all – No imagination 😦

    Like

  2. Stefanie says:

    Very interesting! Like you, I used to write fiction but drifted away from writing for several years. Now I’m getting back into it, although currently I’m more interested in non-fiction. I think any form of creativity is beneficial. I came back to writing (though I’m still working on getting more in!) because I feel an itch to do so, like the creativity inside me will turn toxic if I don’t let it out.

    Edwinaseisopes, if you are interested in writing fiction you should do it! For what it’s worth, in my admittedly limited experience, fiction (or any creative endeavor) is a practice – you have to get yourself into the mentality where you are think about your stories regularly, look for ideas all around you, and always have a little notebook on you for when the ideas come.

    Like

Join the discussion!

