I Think I Can. . .

I’m currently teaching my first graduate level course online.  I was hired quite late in the year, so didn’t have as much time as I would have liked to prepare and get organized. In fact, I’m still putting up new content and just trying to stay several weeks ahead of the students. I feel like I’m tired all the time, not because I’m necessarily working so hard, but because the pressure and stress I’m putting on myself is making me tired. Also because I wake up at night and think about the next thing I want to remember to do.

I am trying to be like the ant and the ram in “High Hopes.” I am trying to be the Little Engine that Could. “I think I can, I think I can. . .”

engineIf you’re interested, stay tuned. I’ll try to keep you posted and let you know how this all turns out.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Think I Can. . .

  1. lochwouters says:

    The same thing happened to me the first time I was hired to teach a grad class online. I had exactly seven weeks to pick my texts, create a syllabus, structure the course and learn the platform. And it was the first time I had ever taught a semester long course let alone work in the online teaching platform – all while working fulltime. It was without a doubt the hardest, THE HARDEST, 6 months of my life. Talk about running on a treadmill. You will survive this and do an amazing job (I read your syllabus at SLIS library when I was visiting recently and it rocks!). Just keep your eye on late May!!

    Like

    • cbecker53 says:

      Thanks, Marge. 🙂 I had way less than 7 weeks to prepare! It helps that I had the syllabus from the previous instructor to work from, and that I’ve used the software before; but this is a very different experience from the CE courses. I appreciate your words of support, my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Judy Martin says:

    You can do it, you know you can! 🙂

    Like

  3. Eileen On says:

    Funny – I’m on the other side of this. I signed up for an online course and only have a week to get caught up now. Ooops… time to get back to my homework!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Join the discussion!

